The Booksellers Association of the United Kingdom & Ireland Limited

Independent Bookshop Week logo

Independent Bookshop Week 2024 took place Saturday 15 – Saturday 22 June

Independent Bookshop Week is a celebration of independent bookshops across the UK and Ireland. It aims to highlight the vital role independent bookshops play in their communities, and to encourage consumers to shop for their summer reads with their local independent. The campaign launched in 2006.

Independent Bookshop Week takes place annually, mid-June (the first weekend of the campaign usually overlaps with Fathers’ Day). Hachette UK is the headline sponsor, with support from Gardners and Nielsen BookData. Midas look after media outreach. The campaign hashtag is #IndieBookshopWeek
More than 700 independent bookshops are registered to participate. All of the registered members receive point of sale kits mid-May, and dedicated newsletters (from January through to the campaign end).
Publishers are invited to support the campaign by offering members signed stock, indie exclusive editions, early releases, added value items, author signings and events.
Books Are My Bag works with a number of partners to deliver six strands of Independent Bookshop Week activity: 
- National Book Tokens launched their High Five for Bookshops initiative during the 2020 campaign and it has quickly become an integral part of Independent Bookshop Week. All participating bookshops receive flyers to pass onto their customers, enabling them to download a £5/€5 National Book Tokens e-Gift card to spend back in the bookshop that gave it to them
- Each year we invite a well-known poet to write a bespoke poem for us, in celebration of independent bookshops. We then film the poet performing the poem in their local bookshop and share the video across social media during the campaign. Brian Bilston wrote our inaugural poem in 2021, with Hollie McNish and Dean Atta writing subsequent poems. Critically acclaimed spoken word performer George Mpanga (aka George the Poet), has written the 2024 poem. We will be sharing the poem on the @booksaremybag social channels at 6pm on Wednesday 19 June
- Working with our headline sponsor, we line up three authors each year to act as our media spokespeople and to do bookshop events across the country during the campaign. Renowned broadcaster and author of Murder at the Monastery (6 June 2024), Rev Richard Coles, celebrated journalist and author of Everything is Everything: A Memoir of Love, Hate and Hope, Clive Myrie and award-winning novelist and author of In The Shadow of the Wolf Queen, Kiran Millwood Hargrave are this year’s ambassadors
- Indie Twinning involves independent publishers and independent bookshops teaming up to develop bespoke programmes of activity throughout the campaign. This activity helps to drive local media coverage, footfall and social media content, as well as forging relationships within the independent sector
- Publishers, consumers, authors and anyone who values bookshops, is encouraged to go on a bookshop crawl at any point during the campaign week. Use our bookshop search to plan your route
- Authors are encourage to try their hand at a spot of guest bookselling. Whether it be for an hour, a morning or afternoon, or a full day, this is a great way to generate social media content, a photo opportunity, and a chance for authors to sign some copies of their books in-store

How publishers and authors can get involved in Independent Bookshop Week 

Join in on social media by tagging @booksaremybag and using #IndieBookshopWeek in your posts.

Indie Book Awards logo in orange. The text says: Indie Book Awards 2024 with an illustrative stack of books above.
The Indie Book Awards comprise four categories: Fiction, Non-Fiction, Children’s Fiction and Picture Book. Publishers can submit up to three titles per imprint, per category. Independent booksellers across the UK and Ireland will vote on the submitted titles to create the shortlist. A panel of judges will decide on the four winners. The Indie Book Awards shortlist and winners are promoted to and by all bookshops participating in Independent Bookshop Week. 

Indie Book Awards 2024 Winners

Yellowface by Rebecca F. Kuang (The Borough Press) 
Non-Fiction: The Golden Mole and Other Vanishing Treasure by Katherine Rundell, illustrated by Talya Baldwin (Faber Books)
Children's Fiction: Safiyyah’s War by Hiba Noor Khan (Andersen Press)
Picture Book: The Dress in the Window by Robert Tregoning, illustrated by Pippa Curnick (Oxford University Press)

Indie Book Awards 2024 Shortlist


Yellowface by Rebecca F. Kuang (The Borough Press)
Babel by R.F. Kuang (HarperVoyager)
Weyward by Emilia Hart (The Borough Press)
Really, Good Actually by Monica Heisey (4th Estate)
Old God’s Time by Sebastian Barry (Faber & Faber)
Essex Dogs by Dan Jones (Head of Zeus, An Aries Book)
The Golden Mole and Other Vanishing Treasure by Katherine Rundell, illustrated by Talya Baldwin (Faber & Faber)
The Future of Geography: How Power and Politics in Space will Change the World by Tim Marshall (Elliott & Thompson)
Divine Might by Natalie Haynes (Picador)
Finding Hildasay by Christian Lewis (Pan Macmillan)
The Farmer’s Wife by Helen Rebanks (Faber & Faber)
Everything is Everything by Clive Myrie (Hodder & Stoughton)
Safiyyah’s War by Hiba Noor Khan (Andersen Press)
The Clockwork Conspiracy by Sam Sedgman (Bloomsbury Children’s Books
The Final Year by Matt Goodfellow, illustrated by Joe Todd-Stanton (Otter-Barry Books)
Heartstopper Volume 5 by Alice Oseman (Hodder Children’s Books)
Kicked Out by A.M. Dassu (Old Barn Books)
The Wonder Brothers by Frank Cottrell-Boyce illustrated by Steven Lenton (Macmillan Children’s Books)

The Cat Who Couldn’t Be Bothered by Jack Kurland (Frances Lincoln Children’s Books: First Editions)
The Great Storm Whale by Benji Davies (Simon & Schuster Children’s Books)
Grandad’s Pride by Harry Woodgate (Andersen Press)
The Dress in the Window by Robert Tregoning, illustrated by Pippa Curnick (Oxford University Press)
Snail in Space by Rachel Bright illustrated by Nadia Shireen (Simon & Schuster Children’s Books)
There’s a Tiger on the Train by Mariesa Dulak illustrated by Rebecca Cobb (Faber & Faber)
The Adult categories judging panel consists of Tim Batcup (Cover-to-Cover, Swansea), Yasmine Srouji (Bookbag, Exeter), Claire Grint (Cogito Books, Hexham), Nadia Jones (South London Gallery Bookshop, London), Rebecca Roberts (Night Owl Books, East Linton).
The Children’s categories will be judged by Jenny Eagles (Owl and Pyramid Bookshop, Seaton), Helen Tamblyn-Saville (Wonderland Bookshop, Retford), Gordon Stewart (Wedale Bookshop, Stow), Denise Evans-Barr (Custom House Bookshop, London), Keira Andrews (Reading Roots, Wetherby).

Key dates
Friday 10 May: Indie Book Awards Shortlist Announced
Thursday 20 June: Indie Book Awards Winners Announced

Find out more about previous Indie Book Awards winners
If you have any queries about the Indie Book Awards, please contact

Booksellers Association members may opt in or out of participating in Independent Bookshop Week at any point. Please email if you would like to check if you are registered to participate, or if you would like to change your participation.

If you are an author, poet, illustrator, agent or publisher and would like to know more about the campaign, please email