The Booksellers Association of the United Kingdom & Ireland Limited

Winners of the Parliamentary Book Awards 2017 announced

PBAs winners

Nick Clegg, Harriet Harman and Brendan Cox have been announced as the winners of the second Parliamentary Book Awards, as voted for by MPs and members of the House of Lords.

Nick Clegg won Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian for How to Stop Brexit (And Make Britain Great Again), The Sunday Times Bestseller, in which Clegg debunks what he sees as the various myths that have been used to force Brexit on Britain, and explains how this ‘historic mistake’ can be reversed.  

Harriet Harman was awarded Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian for A Woman’s Work, which spans the entire career of Britain's longest-serving female MP, looking at Harman’s own life to see how far we've come, and where we should go next. 

Brendan Cox took home Best Political Book by a Non-Parliamentarian for Jo Cox: More in Common, an impassioned portrait of his late wife, murdered MP, Jo Cox, as a daughter, mother, wife, sister, MP and campaigner.

Launched by the Booksellers Association and the Publishers Association in 2016, the awards aim to celebrate the best of political writing and the long-standing link between politics, books and publishing. The shortlist was voted for by UK bookshops, with parliamentarians voting on the winner in each category. 

Lis Tribe, PA President and Nic Bottomley, BA Vice President hosted the event, and presented the winners with their awards. Conservative Party politician, Andrew Lewer kindly sponsored the event. 

Stephen Lotinga, Chief Executive of the Publishers Association, said: “The role books play in shaping the political debate has never been more relevant and tonight’s winners serve to highlight this. All three winning titles make vital contributions to our thinking on important political issues, whether this is on the position of women in politics, by helping us come to terms with the tragic death of Jo Cox MP or by weighing into the divisive issue of our decision to leave the European Union.”

Tim Godfray, Chief Executive of the Booksellers Association, added: “The shortlists, curated by the UK’s bookshops, represented an intriguing and eclectic range of titles for Parliamentarians to choose from and the winners are no less fascinating; timely and tackling some of the major themes of the moment. All have been beautifully crafted, and celebrate the longstanding relationship between politics and the booksellers.”

The winners saw off competition from a strong shortlist that included former Greek finance minister, Yanis Varoufakis’ Adults in the Room, Jess Philips’ Everywoman: One Woman’s Truth About Speaking the Truth, and Chris Skidmore’s Richard III