The Booksellers Association of the United Kingdom & Ireland Limited

Parliamentary Book Awards 2017 shortlists announced

We're thrilled to announce the Parliamentary Book Awards 2017 shortlists. 

Launched by the Booksellers Association of UK and Ireland and the Publishers Association in 2016, the awards aim to celebrate the best of political writing and the long-standing link between politics, books and publishing.

The awards celebrate parliamentary writing across three categories: Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian; Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian; and Best Political Book by a non-Parliamentarian.

Titles shortlisted for the Parliamentary Book Awards are:

Best Memoir by a Parliamentarian
A Woman’s Work by Harriet Harman 
Everywoman: One Woman’s Truth About Speaking the Truth by Jess Phillips 
First Confession by Chris Patten

Best Non-Fiction by a Parliamentarian
How to Stop Brexit by Nick Clegg
War and the Death of News by Martin Bell
Richard III by Chris Skidmore

Best Political Book by a non-Parliamentarian
Jo Cox: More in Common by Brendan Cox
Adults in the Room by Yanis Varoufakis 
Things Can Only Get Worse?: Twenty Confusing Years in the Life of a Labour Supporter by John O’Farrell

Publishers were invited to nominate books and authors for the awards, and the shortlist was drawn up by booksellers. Voting is now open for parliamentarians to decide the winner in each category.

The awards will be presented at a parliamentary reception in the House of Commons on 5 December.